top of page

snake

you snake!


I meditated, I left the door open

My eyes followed your comet as it passed through space

Over jagged caverns and inverted chasms

Past the chomping teeth of lions and warthogs


I trusted you!

That under your cloak of pure black was something good

A balm, a gentle soul, a warm wish


I tracked your every movement, expecting a diversion or transformation but finding only a bewildering consistency.

You first.

Down,

down into my core where you settled and spread your seed

You filled every limb with your blackness,

a grim erasure of the beautiful light I’d collected in my greenhouse.


My storehouses are left without power, and all I can do is exhale

I breathe out,

blowing you out, away from me, I exhale,

exhausting myself to clean the pillars I stand on

I see spatters and wisps of you in front of me, so I continue

It’s slow work, but I continue

to exhale, ex ale


You snake,

let me use you now

To clean myself out,

I will clean my pipes with your bristles,

Sweep my insides with you and expel it all with borrowed passivity


I am not yours anymore.

I am breathing you  out.

Recent Posts

See All

mad·​i·​son

This was written exactly a year ago. I have no idea what it’s about. Enjoy my art while I step back behind the twigs Where I don’t feel anything good Close your mouth and breathe more Inhaling strands

reck·​less

Right now I want to be promiscuous - reckless? I want to trust, but also to revel, in its shallowness. I want to make bad decisions, because is there such a thing? To call, to rooftop. To sink my teet

un·​in·​vit·​ed

In another life, we met briefly at a concert. I watched you walk away then returned to my conversation. In another, I saw you on a train. Mischievous blue eyes playing tag until they found a playful c

plantery.jpg

Pursuing radical honesty, is that bad

This is for me. 
But I hope you
like it too. 

bottom of page